Abandoned

Abandoned

Lord, Are you there?

Today I’m going to;

Close my eyes; just a moment to reflect

The mercy that I’m given, I am never in neglect

Beautiful evening in Mississauga fishing off of the Port Credit rocks

So often in life, I have felt completely and utterly alone, even though I have been surrounded by loved ones. I felt abandoned and unlovable.

It seems as amazing to me now as it did when I first came to realize that no matter what the depth of our sorrow, our shame, regret or our inability to cope with life, God never, never leaves us. As a matter of fact, God calls us the “apple of His eye”. The bible tells us that “He sings over us”. Wow! This evokes thoughts of my parents when I was a young child and even of being a mother and singing to my children.

As I would sing, love flowed out of my heart and my spirit to the point where it seemed I could physically feel it moving and spilling over them. Such tremendous love and yet God’s love for us is even greater! God’s care for us is beyond that of the best mother or father and He will never leave you, no matter how abandoned or unworthy you may feel.

1John 4:10 This is love; not that we loved God, but that He loved us and sent His son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.  

I thought that this would be appropriate to add to the Daily Prompt Singing the Blues. As this blog is all about overcoming the blues and depression.

7 thoughts on “Abandoned”

I would be happy to hear from you :)

