Over and Over

Over and Over

Lord, Why do I keep doing what I don’t want to do, over and over again, when my desire is to follow Your ways?

Today I’m going to;

Decide not to hurt my spirit again

I’ll say a prayer, I’ll praise Your name and win in Jesus’ name

Photo by Easter Ellen

How many times have you resolved to not do a certain thing over and over and over again in your life? Quitting a bad habit is something we often fail at many times before we succeed. In having overcome some bad habits, (while still working on others), I speak with continued effort on this challenge. I don’t limit my bad habits to being that of only actions, but they can be a repeated thought, whether a bitterness, a rage, a hatred, a self-pity, a lustfulness, an addiction… I could go on and on.

 

I have found that the more quickly I turn to God to seek His comfort, His wisdom and His peace, the stronger I am to be able to resist temptation. God’s word gives us peace and power. The peace He gives us is complete, it is whole; it is refreshing to our entire being and it is reviving to our strength. You may need to turn to God several times a day (or even several times an hour) as you maintain the determination to overcome, but He is there for you each and EVERY time.

 

John 6:68

Simon Peter answered him, “Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life.”

 

14 thoughts on “Over and Over”

  1. I have just started following you. This one is me through and through. I find myself asking for forgiveness pretty much every day. Thank you for your posts. And I thank God for leading me to your posts.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for taking the time to let me know that this is helping you. I had been planning on publishing this in a devotional, but God, directed me to post it daily in a blog format. I know that it is easier for people to see the internet than go buy a book.

      That being said, God forgives, you only have to ask once and it is done. Don’t dwell on what God has washed you clean from..

      May your heart and spirit be blessed in your walk with God and thank you for your encouragement.

      Easter

      Like

      1. Thank you for your response. I am always asking for forgiveness for my bad habits that slip in a lot. Especially swearing. It is a hard habit to break. If you ever do publish a devotional, let me know. I like books too!

        Like

        1. Thank you 🙂 Even St. Paul said that his flesh was fighting his spirit continuously. What an inspiration that is to know that one of the greatest of all men to spread God’s word struggled even as we do.

          Take heart in it and just try to take a deep breath before the word comes out and then just say “thank you God”. I don’t know if it will work, but I will pray for you also.

          Bless you lots,
          Easter

          Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree.. If even St. Paul had to battle the flesh continuously, I can say that it is the norm. The point is to not feel the constant failure and to have those wins over our bad habits when we can rely on God.

      Thank you so much for all of your time visiting and commenting.

      Easter 🙂

      Like

I would be happy to hear from you :)

