Intimidated

 

 

Photo by Easter Ellen
Photo by Easter Ellen

 

Lord, I feel so intimidated by my own lack of ability

Today I’m going to:

Remember God has created me in His image

I shall go in confidence knowing this and I shall not be timid

Why is it that we always see our faults instead of our strengths. Why is it that we see where others are so competent, so capable and so confident and yet, when we look in the mirror, we only see weakness and inability.

 

God has created all of us uniquely and it is a wonderful thing to see others’ strengths and their abilities. Do not measure your own ability against theirs for you have your own unique gifts, your own purpose day after day and your own beautiful attributes that make you who you are.

 

I used to measure myself against colleagues, friends that have been very successful, others who chose more wisely in marriage. In time, I have seen that we all struggle. That the brightest picture always has its flaws. They are not the same as my own, but God has shown me that every heart struggles in one way or another.

 

Be blessed knowing that you are a son or daughter of the Most High God, that He is your protector, your shield and your worth, to Him is so much that He allowed His beloved Son to suffer, die and atone for your sake.

 

Believe in the beauty within your spirit that God has created.

 

Philippians 4:8 Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable–if anything is excellent or praiseworthy–think about such things.

 

15 thoughts on “Intimidated”

  1. Dear Easter:

    Even though our views on religion are divergent – I’m agnostic, as well as antagonistic (I know not a religion, BUT a set of beliefs), I enjoyed reading this blog because of it’s over optimism and to not judge yourself against what others have achieved, but on your own unique skills – “Do not measure your own ability against theirs for you have your own unique gifts, your own purpose day after day and your own beautiful attributes that make you who you are.”

    It’s a message of inspiration that more people need to select. Than again, it’s a feeling writers struggle with every day.

    Like

    1. Thanks so much David. I am writing this other blog (Today I can with God), to touch the hearts of those who are getting through depression. I try not to be too “thumping” but rather to give a gentle message of love and encouragement, as well as a feeling of inspiration to take a baby-step forward.

      Your comment, as you are agnostic, means a lot to me as it lets me know that I am not overly loud with my own beliefs.

      Thanks so much for taking the time to comment and to read.

      Easter

      Like

  2. Personally, I think that “comparison thing” we do is one of satan’s best tools! He can carve me down to nothing, but quick–when I start thinking everyone is more saintly than I. And it’s all lies. God bless you abundantly today and always.

    Like

  3. When I start to criticize myself (ie: how I look), I am learning to stop myself and remind myself that God made me and He doesn’t think there is anything wrong with how I look, so, I shouldn’t either! Great blog!

    Like

    1. 🙂 I am so glad that you agree! I look at myself as I am getting older and losing youth’s glow, and then try to just remember that it is the beauty within us that shines out, as we grow.
      Thank you so much for your kind words.
      Bless you lots,
      Easter

      Like

I would be happy to hear from you :)