Waiting

Waiting

Lord, the waiting is so very hard.. please help me through this

Today I’m going to:

Close my eyes and see You touching me

Help me to be patient as my faith can grow in You

Photo by Easter Ellen

 

Waiting. We wait for answers. We wait for miracles. We wait for the right person. We wait for courage. We wait for faith. We wait and we wait. It almost seems against our human nature to wait, and yet we must.

 

We ask God why we have to wait. I am a very impatient person by nature and wait is a four-letter word to me. I don’t like it. Sorry – I didn’t like it, until I came to see the richness that God has blessed me with in waiting.

 

Waiting is truly God’s way of allowing us to choose to hone our faith, to draw closer to Him, to grow our trust in Him.

 

Waiting is our time to be able to thank God. “For what”, my impatience says. For the beauty of the growth that God blesses me with as I have waited out so many difficult circumstances in my life.

 

I like to refer to our little friend the caterpillar quite a bit and so I will again. It is in waiting that the beauty and magic happens.

 

As the little caterpillar struggles, fights and cries his way to get loose from his prison, his wings gather the strength they will need to carry the weight of his body to soar above the earth in wonder. Any sooner than when God breaks Him loose and the little guy would parish.

 

So it is with us. Our spirit, feeling imprisoned as it is made to wait, gains the gift of long-suffering. “Gift?” you ask. Gift. In this time of waiting and suffering, our needy and weak-feeling spirit reaches in the dark to our Creator. Reaches through the strife to find the hand of Him who will hold us through eternity. Reaches and grows.

 

He is always waiting for us there.

 

Isaiah 40:31 but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. 

**So many of my WP friends are going through difficult times. I pray for you all and know that the Lord is with you. Today’s devotional was inspired by Michelle Marie, who together with Jeanne Marie are very special people, indeed. Please join me in praying for her family as they are facing a difficult time of waiting.

31 thoughts on “Waiting”

  1. Reblogged this on Easter Ellen and commented:

    This was written for a special WP friend of mine. Please take the time to read and then check out her lovely blog. The link is at the bottom of the post. (PS this is from my other blog, Today I Can With God.

    Like

  2. In a conference I learned that it is beneficial to imagine the Lord God holding my hand, or walking with him on a dusty road. It relaxes me and prepares me to meditate on the scripture I read prior.

    Like

  3. Oh sweet Easter I love this! I love your reference to the caterpillar we are like that caccooned and wrap up in God’s love, surround Mercy and covered by His Grace!💗 we are waiting for the Dr. Waiting! I’m getting so good t waiting!😇

    Like

  4. Yes, we wait for our wishes to come true, for the right person, for everything, we pray to God for things we know no one but only God can make it happen. I am in a phase of life, where prayers are my best buddy. May God fulfill all our good wishes.

    Like

          1. It is truly my pleasure 🙂
            Oh and it is Easter – I was born at Easter so got named Easter Ellen instead of Mary Ellen (no need to apologize, everyone does the same thing 🙂

            Like

    1. Thanks so much Morgan – I guess that this is also so much the same for you.. for her it is a different waiting. A difficult one, yet she still shares God’s love in such a joyful and wonderful way.
      Bless you lots,
      Easter

      Like

  5. Well said….I couldn’t add anything more to it, except to say, I have lived it, I am living it and the waiting is very hard for us impatient people…..that said the growth and change that comes from it is incredible. He loves us all individually with such deep unconditional love and wants nothing but to shower his blessing upon us! Thanks for Sharing!!

    Like

    1. Kirt, thank you so much for your kind comment and for the follow. Welcome to this blog.. it is a little place on the web where I try to share the blessings that God has shown me through my own struggles.
      It is amazing, as you say, when we know that we know that His love is, indeed, showered on us.
      I am overwhelmed, day after day, at His love. Even on the most difficult days, His gentle voice whispers through the darkness.
      Have a blessed day and thank you for your kind encouragement.
      Easter

      Like

          1. Tony always laughs at my rose-coloured glasses… but they are God-given and such a grace to me as I see things through God’s love instead of through a broken heart or cynicism.

            Like

          2. I want a pair of those glasses SO BAD–I’d sell everything, just about. It’s hard, requires sweaty effort, to see beyond the bitter drink my mom served up….some days I have more God grace than others, but it’s never really enough. I admire you greatly, my dear sister!

            Like

I would be happy to hear from you :)

